International Film Festival & Awards, Macao

Macao Film Festival 2019

The 4th International Film Festival & Awards, Macao (IFFAM) took place from 5-10 December 2019. The festival opened with the gala premiere of Taika Waititi’s Jojo Rabbit and closed with Hing Fan Wong’s I’m Livin’ It.

Continuing to showcase the best of Asian and international cinema the programme included 51 spectacular films this year, including 10 films competing for six awards in the Competition section as well as seven film entries of the New Chinese Cinema section competing for five awards including Best New Chinese-language Film.

The Competition section once again shone a spotlight on first and second-time feature film directors, with 10 films vying for six accolades awarded by the jury lead by Peter Chan. The 10 Competition films were Bellbird, Bombay Rose, Buoyancy, Family Members, Give Me Liberty, Goldie, Homecoming, Lynn + Lucy, Two of Us, and Two/One.

The Competition award winners were:

  • Best Film: Give Me Liberty
  • Best Director: Fyzal Bouifa, Lynn + Lucy
  • Best Actor Award: Sarm Heng, Buoyancy
  • Best Actress Award: Roxanna Scrimshaw, Lynn + Lucy
  • Award for Best Screenplay: Hamish Bennett, Bellbird
  • Macao Audience Choice Award (voted for by local audiences): Buoyancy

The line-up for the New Chinese Cinema section was Better Days, Dwelling In The Fuchun Mountains, Lucky Grandma, Over The Sea, To Live To Sing, Wet Season, and Wisdom Tooth, with Dwelling In The Fuchun Mountains taking home the Best New Chinese-language Film of the Year.

Other gala screenings included Hollywood Special presentation Dark Waters, Japan Gala presentation Dance With Me, and, as part of the UK Gala, Shaun The Sheep: Farmeggedon, and Judy. British star Lily James was on hand to deliver a BAFTA Masterclass.

Festival Talent Ambassador Suho (of K-pop megagroup EXO) attended Opening Night. His fellow Talent Ambassadors.